Policies by location

United States Key West, United States

EYWO01 - 3424 N Roosevelt Blvd.

  Additional Drivers

Additional driver charge is $15 per day with a maximum of 3 additional drivers. No additional charge for Renter's Spouse/Partner

  After Hours

Our business hours are from 8 am to 5 pm, M- F, until 3 PM Saturday, and 9 to noon on Sunday PICKUP- after hours pickup is easily arranged with our friendly rental staff. RETURN - if you need to return a vehicle outside of our regular business hours, please make arrangements with our rental desk. 305-293-3555 Key West Key Largo 305-517-6014 Marathon. Alternately send email to Use Key drop at location. Available return options include drop vehicle at location and exercise self return QR code on vehicle winshield; leave vehicle at hotel/RV Park designated area. Reasonable recovery fee may apply.


The minimum age of the Renter or any additional driver is 21 years old. Drivers aged 21-23 are subject to a charge of $10.00 per day. No additional charges will apply if Renter is over the age of 23. We will consider a renter as young as 19, on a case by case basis, provided renter has full coverage insurance policy and a major credit card in their own name. Underage fee still applies.

  Business Hours

Monday to Friday 08:00 to 17:00 (5:00 PM), Saturday 8 AM to 3PM; Sundays 9 to Noon. We restrict certain federal holiday hours to Sunday schedule. After hours pickups and drop offs can be arranged with our friendly staff.


Customers who fail to cancel their non-prepaid reservation from the source it was booked, at least 24 hours prior to the pick-up time, and do not show up for their reservation are subject to a $25 USD charge or 50% of the amount of the booking, whichever is higher.

  Debit Cards

Debit cards are acceptable, provided renter can show proof of full coverage insurance or agrees to purchase same. A deposit may apply, up to the amount of the renter's deductible No cash deposits are allowed. No one other than the person named on the card may use it for the deposit. The card holder must be present at the time of rental. We do not accept debit cards from local renters.

  Drivers License

Renter must present a valid driver’s license at the time of rental. Foreign renters must present a valid driver license and a valid passport and based on the date of the entry stamp, will be allowed to rent a vehicle for up to 90 days, present at time of rental.

  Emergency Info

(ERA) Is an optional product, this program will have a cost of 3.99/day. With ERA, key services (locked in car), jump starts, and tire change to spare will be provided at no cost. If customer prefers not to purchase ERA, then will be responsible for any *service fees* in the event said customer requires any of the services listed above.


Economy rent a car has the following products available upon request:GPS, Baby Seat, Booster Seats, maps, and other accessories. Prices vary and all items are subject to availability upon arrival. It is the law that children and babies be seated in baby seats or booster seat.


Vehicle must be returned with same amount of fuel as rented to avoid a refueling service charge. Refueling charge is the cost of the fuel plus a $15 service charge


Our rental rates are based on activity within the Florida Keys. Vehicles without doors are never allowed outside the Florida Keys. Period. Vehicles driven to and from Southeast Florida Airports are subject to One Way/Airport fees, Vehicles driven north of West Palm Beach without our permission are subject to a rental rate increase of 50%. Vehicles driven north of highway 60 are subject to a rental rate increase of 100%. Vehicles cannot be taken outside the state of Florida. If you take our car out of Florida, then it will be considered negligence and a penalty charge will apply of up to $1000, plus time and expenses of not less than $3.00 per mile.


The renters personal auto insurance is considered to be the primary coverage in Florida. Be prepared to show proof of insurance. This is the preferred method. Less costly for you and better for us. Florida law requires you to have Collision, Liability, and Bodily Injury coverage to protect others in the event of an accident involving your operation of our vehicle. We require you to have coverage for our vehicle. Often your major credit card will provide coverage to our vehicle, typically up to $50,000. which makes you responsible for the decutible and any amount over $50,000. IF YOU DO NOT HAVE THE PROPER INSURANCE COVERAGE you can purchase waivers at our counter for a reasonable fee. If renters are using their own insurance the policy must be valid for a minimum of 45 days from return date. All information in the declaration page or ID card must match with Driver's license of primary renter. Any insurance from outside of the USA will not be accepted. Foreign renters must purchase our insurance waivers. If you wish to purchase a waiver after the rental has begun, you can do so at our office where will take fresh pictures of the rental vehicle.

  Local Renters

Local renters are those who present a Monroe County driver’s license to rent a vehicle. 1) Local residents are subject to 100 free miles per day, 40 cents per mile after that. 2) Local residents may be subject to $2000 security deposit 3) Local resident must accept our full insurance coverage unless shown written proof of existing insurance. We reserve the right to contact your insurance company to very a local residents coverage


One Way Rentals between the Florida Keys and Economy offices at Southeast Florida airports are allowed subject to a One Way Drop fees. There is no charge to drop a car rented within the Florida Keys at one of our also locations WITHIN the Florida Keys.

  Optional Protection Products

(ERA) Is an optional product, this program will have a cost of 5.00/day. With ERA, key services (locked in car), jump starts, and tire change to spare will be provided at no cost. If customer prefers not to purchase ERA, then will be responsible for any *service fees* in the event said customer requires any of the services listed above. Certain service providers may require immediate payment from renter, which we agree to reimburse by company check or adjustment to rental charges


All costs derived from the use of the incorrect and/or lack of petrol are not included. The rental company is not to be held liable for items stolen, forgotten, or lost inside the vehicle. It is recommended that the customers have these items covered through personal travel insurance. The loss of the vehicle documents is not covered. Damages or costs deriving from customers loading the car with more than the stated capacity or taking vehicles “off-road” (unpaved roads) will be the customer’s responsibility. No insurance will cover customers driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, and/or found using their mobile phone at the time of an accident. The vehicles displayed and models listed are the most common vehicles used by our car rental partners. We make every effort to keep the reservation you you made with us. The largest portion of our inventory is Jeep Wranglers and Convertibles. However, We cannot guarantee the make/model of the non Jeep or non convertible rental vehicle will be the same as the vehicle displayed on our website. Replacement or lost keys are not covered, client must replace or pay for replacement if lost or stolen. Key Fob replacements can cost $500 or more


We accept all major credit cards, Deposit: The amount of the rent plus up to $1000, will be held in your card at the time of the rental, once the vehicle is returned this deposit will be released this process can take 7 to 14 business days. We are not responsible for banking charges that may incur when using your card. Cash deposits, Travelers Checks, Credit or Debit cards are not accepted for security deposits. For those reservations that require a credit card guarantee,Customers who fail to cancel their non-prepaid reservation from the source it was booked, at least 24 hours prior to the pickup time, and do not show up for their reservation are subject to a $25 USD charge or 50% of the amount of the booking, whichever is higher.

  Prepaid Debit Cards

Customers who make a prepaid reservation using a debit card need to be aware that the renting location will require a credit card in the renter’s name be used for leaving a deposit for the rental to rent the car. Customers who do not have a credit card may be denied rental.

  Prepaid Reservations

If you have made a reservation you may pay on arrival however to make a reservation, we will need a credit card to guarantee your vehicle. There may be an authorization on your Credit Card statement of USD$1.00 please be advised that a no-show fee equivalent to a one day rental plus taxes with a minimum of USD$25.00 will be charged to the Credit Card. If vehicle is not picked up you can avoid this fee by cancelling your reservation through the same website you made it, you cannot call or write to cancel you can cancel only through the website where the reservation was made at least 48 hours in advance of your scheduled rental time. Prepaid reservations-if you have a prepaid reservation your Credit Card will be charged in full at the time you made your reservation. The Credit Card that you paid your reservation must be present at the time of pick up. Refund and cancellation policy-a prepaid reservation is a nonrefundable booking. If you do not pick up your rental when scheduled your reservation will not be modified. If you do not pick up your rental when scheduled your reservation will be cancelled and you will not receive a refund or credit. For customer satisfaction Economy will apply a refund for any of the reasons below-after verification- -flight cancelled and customer could not get to the rental location-natural disaster prevented travel- Illness prevented travel-death in family prevented travel-jury duty prevented travel-Economy was unable to fulfill the customer reservation (example no vehicle available). Please be advised that there will be a charge of a handling fee for cancelling. If a customer chooses to change the date of their reservation the handling fee will be waived but may be subject to a rate adjustment. For date change please contact 305-293-3555. To process a refund or if you have any problems with your reservation, please call us at 305-293-3555. Must be prior to your pickup. .

  Reservation hold time

Vehicles are held for two hours after reserved arrival time. When flight details are provided, we will hold vehicle for up to two hours after flight arrival (during business hours). In the event of delays, you may call or e-mail us to advise of any changes in your pickup time. After the two-hour window, you will be considered a no-show and we may or may not be able to honor your reservation, depending upon availability.


Collision Damage Waiver * - is an optional product from us, and similar benefits may be included if you pay with a major credit card. CDW is a waiver of the rental company's right to collect from the Renter for damages caused to the rental vehicle over the deductible amount. Deductible varies by vehicle, but is generally $1000. The maximum amount of coverage is $50,000. Therefore you may still be responsible for the deductible AND any amount over $50,000. C.D.W. charges are: $19.00 to $39.00 per day. *All Waivers will be void if the terms of the rental agreement are violated. All of the products or waivers listed will become null and void in the event of negligence while driving or while in possession of the rental vehicle such as driving the vehicle across beaches, rivers, etc, or driving under the influence of liquor, drugs or any other substance that could impair the driver’s ability to operate the vehicle. Other negligent acts include, but are not limited to, leaving the keys in the ignition with the vehicle unattended, falling asleep while driving, ignoring traffic signals or police officers. If Renter wishes to decline CDW and rely on their own personal insurance, the Renter must provide written proof from their insurance company, specifically stating coverage is effective for the duration of the rental agreement for third part liability and collision. A minimum-security deposit of $1000 USD will be required. Economy Rent A Car reserves the right and at its discretion to accept personal vehicle insurance at the time of rental. Please check at the rental counter for further information. CDW or LDW will not cover in case of direct or indirect acts of God, including but not limited to flood, hurricane, or lightning. Renter will have to cover all repair costs related to improper fuel usage.

  Late Charge

"For a Late Returning customer, a grace period will be allowed of 60mins from the specified drop off time on the voucher. If you have further delays, please inform the branch as soon as possible. Failing to inform the branch and going past the grace period you will be charged at a daily rental charge at the current time and not the booking. LAST FLIGHT OUT We know you want your Florida vacation to begin early and end late. We also know you will need to be out of your room before noon and your flight out might not be until 5 PM or later. For an additional $50 you can extend the rental for the time you need to be out of your room until you need to get to the airport."

  Tolls and Other Extras Rates

"Please keep in mind that you are responsible for all parking, traffic fines and toll fees / road tax (if not specified otherwise) incurred during the rental period. All our vehicles are registered under our corporate SunPass account, customers cannot use their own SunPass transponder or remove ours, a penalty of $250.00 USD will be assessed to rental agreement in case of removal. Prepaid Sunpass is an all-inclusive convenient service that includes all tolls in Florida. The customer is responsible for the payment of all tolls incurred during the rental period. For customer convenience we offer an all-inclusive payment service whereby all toll charges and related fees incurred during the rental period are set forth and covered by a daily Sunpass all-inclusive rate. Option 1: Prepaid Sunpass… $20.00 USD per day plus Tax … This covers you for all toll charges. Option 2: Decline Sunpass…. In this option, if the customer declines the Sunpass they must avoid any toll roads. If sunpass is used without prepayment a penalty of $25.00 USD per toll plus tolls cost will be applied (up to $250.00 USD) "

  When You Arrive

Thank you for choosing Economy Rent a Car, when you arrive pease follow intructions below. AIRPORT - Be sure we have your flight info early on travel day so we can monitor your flight. Send to We are a 6 minute Uber Ride from the Airport. Selecting Uber/Lyft may save you time and money by avoiding expensive airport concession fees and facility charges. Our address is 3424 N ROOSEVELT BLVD - next to Havana Cabana Hotel. Key West Airport is undergoing a major expansion project. Delays obtaining your luggage may occur. During business hours - Once you have your checked bags, Please call our office at 305-293-3555, and select rentals. Advise us of your name and how many are in your party. We will pick you up at the courtesy shuttle area just forward of the Uber/Lyft Area. Exit the luggage area and turn to the right along the building. Follow the curved sidewalk across the small access road. Wait on the sidewalk for our Shuttle Van, either a full sized van, or a minivan with Economy logo on side. FERRY DOCK - Call our office at 305-293-3555, select rental when you are in cell service range of Key West. Advise us your name, number in your party, and remind us you are landing at the Ferry dock. Once you arrive, gather your checked bag and walk to the triangular shaped parking lot just past the Ferry Terminal. Look for our Economy Logo, or our Key West Adventure Logo MARINA - Call our office at 305-293-3555, and select rental. Discuss with rental agent how we can arrange to bring you to us or bring our car to you (delivery fee may apply) HOTEL - We offer free pickup from Key West and Stock Island Hotels, during regular business hours. Delivery of a rental car can be arranged for a nominal fee. Call our office at 305-293-3555, select rental, advise your intentions with our friendlyrental agent. RV PARK - Call our office at 305-293-3555, select rentals once you know your eta and/or your space number.


"In the event of an accident the renter must return the vehicle along with a police report and a claim number (the renter must initiate the claim through their insurance, if the renter opted to use their own insurance). If the renter does not provide a police report, all insurances and or waiver's purchased will be considered null and void. The payment of the deuctible is due at the time the incident is reported to us.